2 Killer Tips About True Colors, Calibration And Color Checker

Hi everybody !

Have you ever asked your self if the blue I see is the same blue you see ?
Is it possible that the color you call blue is actually red for me. Of course we both say blue. But do we see the same thing ?

Well, doctors say it should be. But some guys are colorblind and do not see the difference between green and blue. Or they the see green as grey.

Humm…

For computers it is the same : your screen may not display the same colors although they should. We all know that when we go to a TV store. So here is the problem : I spend time in front my PC to set the right colors, I upload the file in Flickr and you might see it… different. And then, I had the following question striking me : Does my camera see correct ? Does each lens influence the results. And sorry for worrying you, but yes.

The solution is the colorchecker.

So here are my tips :

1) Calibrate your display – At least the guys who also have done it will see the same colors and contrasts as you do. I use Spider 3. It is not the newest device but it still gives good results.

2) Use a color-checker so you camera gets the right colors. Actually no. But you make a test shot that your computer will analyze in order to create a profile. To do it, you shoot a passport with different colors :

Bildschirmfoto 2013-08-12 um 18.06.50

Then Lightroom analyzes this shot an create a new profile. Name it, your done.

See the difference BEFORE :

Bildschirmfoto 2013-08-12 um 18.06.35

and AFTER (Skin is processed, but I haven’t change the colors, I just used the new profile) :

Bildschirmfoto 2013-08-12 um 18.05.09

So guys, any time you want to have the real colors, use a calibrated display and a color checker !

 

My model loves her scarf and wanted to have a picture of it with the nice violet colors. The adobe-profile provided blueish hues. The colorchecker corrected everything.

Do not hesitate to contact me for further details !

More to come

Leave a Reply

