WATERMARK : GOOD OR BAD ?

X-Mas time is coming up !

Very naively, so to say, I was a little worried about the use people could do with my pictures after I had uploaded them on flickr.

 

Why naively? Well, my pictures were, when I look back, not good enough to interest other people. But I really had a lot of thoughts about this matter. One way was to upload my pics in a low quality. But the quality must be good enough to look good on a screen. And nowadays our pictures are to be seen online and pictures are printed to become posters on walls or calendars. Anyway, so I did so. As I use Flickr as an external storage, I had the double amount of work: I had to upload in low and high definition and set the private mode on the second one.

But one day, in stats section, I saw a referrer that made me curious. I clicked the link and could see one of my pics used on a blog.

Cup

I did not know how to react. On one hand, it is a sign my pictures are good enough to be used by other guys out there. I liked it somehow. On the other hand, even if the CC-rules were respected, I felt stolen, as if someone had taken my baby.

I thought I had to stop this or at least my name had to be somewhere so guys would know I AM the artist, the creator of the shot. I know it is ridiculous but I was really thinking that way at the time. So I put watermarks on my shot. Like this one :

20131023-DSC_0364-Bearbeitet

Does it look good? Humm… Well I felt it was a safe way to show my pictures and to feel safe about that. Actually it worked pretty well : I felt secured and I had no more thoughts. I was so much naive that I did not even figured out you can sweep it way within a few minutes and a little photoshop skills. So watermarking is not a solution.

I think it is time to reconsider the all thing : When you upload your picture, you loose control on it. And there is no way to avoid it. And is it that bad ? I don’t think so.

You see, when my pics are to be seen everywhere, on blogs, it’s a kind of advertising. As long as the CC-rules are applying and are respected it’s OK. And if I see one of my picture where I haven’t shared my copyright, I do hope the company who did this is big and rich like APPLE, WALLMART or GENERAL MOTORS… the rest will be done by my lawyer.

w Noel 2 bleue

So, in secret, I do hope this will happen with or without a watermark. And to make it easier for them, I don’t watermark my shots anymore.

f Ulli Shooting

more to come…

One thought on “WATERMARK : GOOD OR BAD ?

  1. I look at photo blogs every day to find possible contributors and Readers. I don’t mind watermarks if they are along the top or bottom and not too obtrusive , low opacity helps, but across the middle of the image is really distracting and takes away from it. We generally don’t WM but don’t allow images to be clicked on to see bigger so they’re harder to steal.. As a pro photog and curator of a goup photo site those are my personal thoughts on the issue but I struggle with it too.

Leave a Reply

