Silver Efex Pro II – Part Two (go back for Part One)

Hi folks !

I am back tonight and I have about 30 minutes to write this post. Which is way to short to cover all the features. But I don’t mind : I will post as long as takes, because it’s really worth it.

What do I cover tonight ?

I want to present  you the features you have at your disposal. So let’s start with the global adjustments tools :

Bildschirmfoto 2014-02-27 um 19.21.01

This helps you to set the luminosity and the contrasts + structure. I must say that I do not really care about them because I normally set this in CS5. But OK, this plugin can be used as a master program and considering this, it is a great thing to be able to do it in SEP.

The next tool is a selective adjustment tool and it looks like this : Bildschirmfoto 2014-02-27 um 19.21.10

 

With this tool you chose a place that you want to darken or brighten up. SEP affects the image in way that looks natural. I will show you how and results next Saturday.

The next tools are colors filters : want a dark sky, then use the red filter, the blue goes black (or darken grey!) for instance.
Bildschirmfoto 2014-02-27 um 19.21.24

Now, the fun part really begins : SEP provides filters that copy the style of famous analog films! This is this part of the module : Bildschirmfoto 2014-02-27 um 19.22.18 In SEP 2, you can choose a preset among 20 !!! My fav is Kodak TRI-X 400. But that’s not all, you can slightly change it. You like the contrasts of the film but you want less grain ? OK, just reduce it. You want it less hard? Ok, just set it up the way you want.

Now, for those who want to go “manual” 🙂 you can define how a color should be : dark or bright by using this tool :

Bildschirmfoto 2014-02-27 um 19.22.26

OK guys! I am running of time, my 30 minutes are over! But I promise : I come back tomorrow to finish this presentation !

Stay around!

More to come

Leave a Reply

