Silver Efex Pro –> A Quick Edit

Silver Efex Pro is a powerful plugin from NIK Software which now belongs to google by the way.

To show you its possibilities, I have picked up a portrait of our wonderful model Miss A.

Bildschirmfoto 2014-03-01 um 07.44.38

Well this a pretty nice shot with a great light which is very common in fashion and beauty : on light above her aiming down at her face at 45° angle and a reflector aiming up at the same angle at her face. The UP light has to be little stronger and this why I use a reflector for the second light source.

Now I open SEP.

Bildschirmfoto 2014-03-01 um 07.45.01

Yes, I know, my CS5 is in german but it doesn’t matter in this case. By the way that’s weird : A french guy working in german and blogging in english!!!  🙂

And this how you display should look like when you are done :

Bildschirmfoto 2014-03-01 um 07.45.43

At this point, note the settings : By default, the preset (left) is always “neutral”, then when you look at the right side of the picture, you see all the settings at your disposal : they are all set on 0.
This is place we are starting from.

Now, I don’t want a baby skin, so I select a blue filter and it looks like this (it took me 3 secs) :

Bildschirmfoto 2014-03-01 um 07.45.47

And what’s next?

I have thought that her arms are too bright. This attract your eye to this spot because this is how our brain works : it goes always to the brightest spot on the picture. To darken her arms I have chosen the selective tool and I did reduce the luminosity. The technology used here is the so called U-Technology and you are done within 10 seconds. Here I have used 2 selective tools, one per arm.

Bildschirmfoto 2014-03-01 um 07.50.08

Now I pick up a preset (left) and I decide to use a film (right ; AGFA APX 400), to tint in a copper hue (#16), to use a vignette and a border. You can see this on the picture below. After that click OK and the result is in a new layer in Photoshop.

Done!

More to come…

Leave a Reply

