My New Toy : Welcome to you Mister Sony Alpha 700 !

My first Pic with Sony Alpha 700

Life is always full of surprises. Of course, it makes sense to check if your life goes into the desired direction and it is important to question yourself on a regular basis. But still, even doing this, some things may happen unexpected. Last weekend, my trusty Nikon D80 just passed on. It was the first camera I bought after I made the decision to give photography a dominent space in my life. So, ok, it is just a cam, plastic and glass, but to me it was much more than that, it was my entrance in this new world. Now don’t get me wrong, it bugged me one day. But I knew, for some reasons I can not explain, it would not take long before I get a new one. ๐Ÿ™‚

Now listen to this: The day after, my wife and I met very good friends of ours. To my very surprise, Boris came to me holding a bag which seems to be quiet heavy. First I thought he was up to take his gears to the St Marx Cemetery where we had decided to have a walk. By the way, this is actually the place where W.A. Mozart was burried. Well, I did not figured out what happened next : Boris told me “Man, it’s for you. I don’t use this. I have my Fujifilm X100 and since then, I’ve never used the sony anymore. Now, it’s yours.” I was so surprised… And happy ! Boris I am so thankful! I hope you have time to read these lines. Anyway, you rock man !

The shot above is one of the first shots done with it.

I love this one even if it looks creepy. There is a story in it. It shows the death. The time going by. The faceless body shape evokes it could be anyone of us. We all be gone one day, and one day there won’t be anybody to bring some flowers on our graves neither.

St Marx, Wien, AT

Now, my first impressions about the sony are good. It’s different than Nikon. It’s Canon-uish so to say, but you know how I think about that. A cam is just a tool to get the job done. That’s all. That being said, it’s a very nice tool. The AF is just very fast, colors are OK, but that matters not so much to me since CC or LR5 are both good mates of mine. I am pretty curious to see how it works in studio. But that’s another story.

A very nice thing is the dynamic range that seems to be higher than my nikons D80/D90 or D700. I am quite surprised and I have to say that I will make some more tests to challenge the sensor. Look at this shot below: I still have details and that’s really not bad (the light and the details, not the composition).

Wiener Neudorf, AT

๐Ÿ™‚

More to come

3 thoughts on “My New Toy : Welcome to you Mister Sony Alpha 700 !

  1. You have a very good friend there mate, I know how it is too, if you check my most recent blog post out it’s about the camera I was gifted by friend too. ๐Ÿ™‚ Can’t wait to see what you produce with it ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Hi mate ! Nice to hear from you ! Yes, it was such a nice surprise! By the way man, My wife and I are flirting with the idea to cross the chanel (+ France + Germany…!) to get to London one of these days. How far do you leave from Buckingham Palace ? ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. I live about 4 hrs drive away ๐Ÿ™‚ But if you know the dates that you’re going I might be able to jump on a train and meet you for a coffee or beer ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

