Tinting a BW shot with Exposure 5

Today’s post isn’t about AEP (Analog Efex Pro) or Topaz Restyle.
I love them because they are very easy to use and they become very fast a part of your process, organically. But my fav is definitely Exposure 5.

 

DSC_0046-Bearbeitet

 

What is it?
It’s a tinting app that gives the personal touch you gave in the past by choosing such or such film roll.
I am not gifted like Frank Doorhof in anyway and that guy writes the best reviews I have ever read. So check his site or get there too to learn more about the plugin.

 

I love the shot above because :

1) My wife’s on it
2) There is a story : she rides and doesn’t want to get wet.
3) Even if her face is not sharp, her expression is strong.
4) It is one of the last shots done with my D80
5) There is motion

How do you get the motion ?

Well, as she was not fast, I shot at 1/30 sec in S mode. Another way could have been to meter the light with a light meter and to set A and S for good. I follow her to get her in focus making as a consequence the background blured. A very predictable effect actually. As you can see, it’s an easy shot.

So now, let’s talk about the processing : I turned the picture into BW. Yep, it is. I just set exposure to tint the bright parts of the picture in orange and the dark ones in blue. See it big and check it out : https://www.flickr.com/photos/eliotmarc/14063060102/

That’s one of tricks that pops up your pic to the next level. Trust me, you don’t want to see the raw file.

Now, you can use 100s of presets and creates yours in Exposure 5, there is no limits. It’s all up to you.

More to come

 

 

Leave a Reply

