Selfies and Social Media, a post for teenagers

I have just heard selfies may harm your soul. The idea is you see your friends looking perfect and you compare yourself with the selfies from friends of yours made public thru Facebook or any other social media.

Can be.

Selfie

So, I have decided to make a few selfies, knowing I am just a normal, an average, and a little overweighted guy. A guy with a normal life : a 8 to 5 job, a divorce, a new marriage and a patchwork family. A 44 years old guy who loves photography.

I am not important. Not so important that my private life would interest other people. Yes I survived a huge car accident ten years ago. Yes I survived a helicopter crash when I was a student. But, who cares?… Give your privacy a chance!

I may be interesting, not for what I am, but for what I do. Maybe. Maybe not. If I succeed then yes. This is what this picture is about. My pictures may be interesting. I try to catch emotion somewhere and I deliver it to other guys in the form of a picture. That makes my process of photographing, if I succeed, interesting. Not me. Not the guy behind the cam. I only use Social Medias for my hobby : photography. That’s all. It’s like this blog : I write for me organize and structure my thoughts, to put down things I don’t want to forget. And if it helps someone else, that’s ok. But this isn’t my primary goal.

So teenagers, here is my message : do. Don’t present your life or pretend to be someone you’re not. Your friends are like you. They pretend they are what you would like to be. And in 20 years from now, who will care ?

more to come…

Leave a Reply

