It’s Sunday. It’s about tiny rooms.

This post is about tiny places and low budget for a shoot.

As a new father I am quiet in a hurry most of the time. And I don’t have so much time to look for models in the internet. And asking friends is a nice thing to do but sometimes you want to shoot something special a relative would not do. At the same time, I have decided to focus more on the story. And this where the tiny place arrives : having not much room makes you think about the possibilities only in that frame. I am a great fan of Regina Pagles, an american (hobby)photographer from Springdale, Utah. Always the same set up, and every frame is new story.

OK. I have a table upstairs I thought and I could use it for my pictures. But I don’t want to have only one setup but to create it accordingly to the story. At this point, I thought I could shoot selfies in order not to stress looking for TFP-Models and also to see the results of my diet. And from this moment on, things have begun to roll.

My set up is so far easy, mostly one light, sometimes a backlight but I keep it small, using only what serves the purpose. Here is a shot of the studio so to say, shot with a fisheye.

unbenannt-192

Not very pro.
Who cares! I want to shoot for me, for my pleasure, and that’s all.

Here a few shots all made there including (or sometimes behind since the it was cropped) the table.

unbenannt-229-Bearbeitet Kopie Yes I used photoshop, my mouth isn’t so big as displayed here ! 🙂

unbenannt-277-Bearbeitet-Bearbeitet This was also shot there, it is a cropped version of this shot below:

Miss U loves flowers and it costs me a lot !

Well, when you have a table, why don’t you put things or people on it ?Addicted to U(lli)

Basketball

.
There is a story behind the shot you can read here.

So how would shoot the word “MISTRUST”? Well this is my interpretation, still in this tiny place: unbenannt-11 version 2-Bearbeitet Kopie It was quiet dangerous since the knife was falling every ten seconds! Kidding, it was of course added later in photoshop. 😉

This one has been the source of a discussion on flickr you can read bly clicking on the picture. In short : a viewer felt uncomfortable and asked for information. Click for more details. Gangster with baby

Gardening

Those Little Moments In Life

So what looks at first sight like a problem (tiny room) has been a real + for making new pictures and it showed a new direction.

more to come…

2 thoughts on “It’s Sunday. It’s about tiny rooms.

  1. I think this series is working really well mate. I’m a great fan of Regina too, and she has influenced a lot of my work. The simple setup is the way to go for sure.
    Incidentally, I’d model for you if I got the chance 🙂

    1. Maybe this day will come. My daughter (the older one) goes study next year in the UK, well… Scottland actually. We will pay her a visit. So, maybe it’s an opportunity ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

