Things I have learned yesterday

My wife and I have decided to make a few shots in a totally different direction we use to do.

I call it, the “Emily Soto”. Stop. I don’t pretend to be as good as she is. What I mean by that is only the kind of dream-uish girls with flowers and kind of vintage victorian clothes. You get the idea (hopefully). Anyway, if you want to check on her gallery, click here.

She is a master of this style. Which is not what I am drawn to but it’s kind interesting and women seam to love that. So OK, let’S give it a try. I loaded my car and off we go. After a minute or two, my back let me remember I am 45 and it hurt. Not the best thing for a shoot. No position did help. The good thing about this is you have to be effective since you don’t want to suffer for nuts.

I took 3 cameras to see if there are differences. A nikon DF, a Fuji EX1 and a Sony Alpha700. And yes there are and will be a subject of a future post. We made 2 setups. The one below was shot with a Nikon Dƒ, 70-200mm 2,8G, S1/125 ƒ5, ISO 100. It’s lighted by 3 strobes.

  1. My Keylight is a beautydish. I now think a big SB would have been more appropriate. It aims down at her at a 45° angle.
  2. My backlight is 1/3 of my key light. It’s a bare head of my quadra, B plug. It’s gelled with a CTO.
  3. My third light is a fill. It’s 40cm above the ground aiming straight at a silver reflector

I made just on measurement with my light-meter and I was done and ready to shoot.

woman with flowers in her hair sitting on a chair

My postproduction is only about the skin + background smoothing. No vignette or any kind of other adjustments. I hope this kind of picture will interest new models based in Vienna who want to build their portfolio for free (TFP).

Have a nice Sunday, more to come…

 

Leave a Reply

