Poker games…

This shot is already a few months old.

It was shot in a very tiny place where I shot all my self portraits. I am not really a fan of my appearance but I have noticed that it is easier to shoot myself instead of running after models and looking for locations especially when you have a 8 to 5 desk’s job which is really interesting but very time and energy consuming when you consider the business trips.

Anyway, I really do respect poker players for many reasons.

I really admire their coolness and their aptitude to get the most of what they got given: their cards. At some point of my life I have realized that life in general and poker have a great deal in common. It’s not only the cards that matter, but what you’ll do with them.

Thinking of this, I decided to make this shot.

Poker -

We aren’t equal. Maybe from a legal perspective we are. But we all don’t get the same cards. If you are the son of Bill Gates you may not have the same problems my neighbor has, or if you were born impaired. But still, it’s in your hand to handle and to influence the turn of your life. Meaning by that, it’s never too late to do the right thing.

Take me. Last december a photog I am following on G+, Frank Doorhof, posted a message about his workout. I knew he is/was overweighted. His message combined with the fact I had to handle my own weight helped me to make the decision to go see a doctor. I was 110kg (=242.51lb) at the time. 9 months later and 2 workouts (30 min hometrainer) a week during this period, I have lost 25kg (=55,12lb). To be honest, I did not think I would be able to make it at the very start of this process. I don’t know if Frank still uses his rowing device, but needless to say I owe him something even he doesn’t even know it!

🙂

Yes, having bad cards makes life harder, but where there is a will, there is a way.

That’s why I love poker players and this shot.

I hope this picture and its story behind it will help you to reach your goal especially when you believe it’s too late.

more to come…

Leave a Reply

