Behind The Scene ! :-)

Last Friday, I finally made the shot was thinking about for a few weeks or so.

The story is easy and simple : What if we would live outside with the same standards of living meaning by this our furnitures, our lights, sofas, carpets, lamps, you name it.

At this point I have to smile ; I remember my last flight and the lady sitting next to me who happened to be a psy. We small talked and I told her about my hobby and the perspective I have about it : a concept (doesn’t have to be a very clever or complicated one) to translate into a picture. She showed at me and said : “Funny, why do you do this and don’t shoot like a free man!” I still don’t know but I guess it will be my next subject on top of my todo list !

The composition – The props and the setup
Luckily I still have this sofa wich it too small or to big. But it looks cool and although we spoke about getting rid of it, it’s still here after all these years. And I thought it would be perfect for this shoot. Its place is in my daughter’s room. The standing lamps were bought in our home depot in Schwechat close to Vienna. Travelers will know this place because the Vienna International Airport is there. And this cow-carpet is in our house for ages now. Why am I writing all this? Because you don’t have to kill your wallet to create a scene. It could be better with an old TV set and, and, and… but it’s a personal project with no budget.

I wanted the sofa to be straight in front of the camera, like the seat of a Queen or King. Lamps left or right? Well, the answer is easy, the lamps can’t be between the subject and the main light because of the shadows it would create. So… camera right. To simulate a home, I thought my 6€ new red shoes would be cool on the carpet. Because this is typically the kind of things we do don’t we ? We come home, take off our shoes and sometimes we don’t put them away where they should go, they just stay where they fall and as it is in this shot. And this make a diagonal line : Lamps + sofa + shoes.
The lights
Well I had a clear idea about how the result should look like. As mentioned in my last post, I put my ideas on paper to have a base to start from.

Camera right: An 1,70m ø umbrella used as a shout thru. It worked well for the mission given : a fill. But, if I had to redo this shot, I would use it the way umbrella work since I had to go full power. I put the Quadra for the background behind the sofa and made a test shot :

BTS

Too dark, wich was OK, it is supposed to be just a fill, so it was now time to set my exposure for the main light. My main light is a BX500 Ri of Elinchrom. A gridded strobe with a CTO to warm up the temperature of the scene and mimic the tungsten warmth.
BTS

ƒ11. Camera left. ƒ11 is good. To make a good fill, I went for a -2 steps fill so : ƒ5,6. Done.
I just played around with my background (no measurement) and I was ready to shoot.

BTS BTSBTS

To recap (a bit darkened in CC for the purpose of the text)

Explanations

And the final shot. I used LR get back some details out of the background. Done !

Final Shot

More to come…

Leave a Reply

