When I was nineteen…

A long long time ago, when I was nineteen I remember a very afternoon when I met a girl I used to know.

This girl was not just any girl. Before we lost contact she happened to be someone very special to me. You can figure what I mean. Anyway, we lost contact and a few years after, we met in quartier latin, Paris on this very afternoon I mentioned before. Needless to say i was nervous and totally excited. And as always, when you want something too much, you become just a ridiculous clown and you say things to impress you actually don’t really mean or they just sound just not right at the moment. I was just not confident.Talking about the future I told her I wanted to become a rich business man smoking cigars. It only took me one second to realize how stupid it was, but… too late.

Almost 20 years later I remember that afternoon and I have to admit I failed.

I failed being a rich business man. I am not rich. I can’t complain but there is no Jaguar or Ferrari in my garage. I am a salesman and that’s very much OK : I fly back to my country on regularly basis and my job is interesting. But I also failed about the cigar thing. I don’t smoke cigars. Not even cigarets. And I have also set myself other goals in life besides the money and smoking things.

But she’ll never know.

That’s the story of this shot.

More to come…

Man smoking cigar

Leave a Reply

