It’s About Fun and Story Telling

Well, you know the technic but you don’t know what to shoot, Carmen, a good friend of mine working as a pro photographer told me just to keep doing and make pauses if necessary She said so with other words but at the end of the day, I think that’s what she meant.

Last tuesday, I just thought : I would like to have a picture of my corner, my desk, the spot I spend quite a lot of hours retouching pictures. But honestly, I thought the white walls would be boring to see on the pic. And I made this to a challenge, a self assignment.

To simplify, I use a tripod.

Here is the scene with nothing done :Bildschirmfoto 2016-07-30 um 08.01.27.png

The picture on my screen is one by Joe McNally, so I needed to change that (I was just reading his last article of his blog before I started). This is my desk and my pictures on the wall.

OK, let’s add a splash of light, just to see what’s happening.Bildschirmfoto 2016-07-30 um 08.05.17.png

Not a pleasing picture, but the idea to give some light to some areas is not bad. Let’s play around with the power.Bildschirmfoto 2016-07-30 um 08.08.02.png

OK, I realized I need to gel the strobe (snoot aming at a fourniture, the light hits it and goes back to the wall you see on the picture) and then to play with the power. No measure taken at this point.

Bildschirmfoto 2016-07-30 um 08.10.38.png

It’s dark but that’s ok, it’s not my main light.

Bildschirmfoto 2016-07-30 um 08.12.04.png Time to add another light, orange gelled, just a bare strobe with the gel on it with no modifier. I use quadras heads set on the B ports to get a low output of power.Bildschirmfoto 2016-07-30 um 08.14.35.png

I removed a few items from the desk and I have selected a picture on mine figuring a naked woman with sushis on her body, a shot I did last year.

Bildschirmfoto 2016-07-30 um 08.17.52.png

It’s time to set my main light : a gridded snoot aiming at me with no gel, set at ƒ8. This is the only light I metered. I cropped the shot because I love the 4×3 format and that was it! deal done !

Leave a Reply

